Composition of Council

The Setsoto Local Municipality has 35 seats. The voters’ role for the 2011 local government elections comprised of 57,669 voters. The highest voter turn-out was achieved in Ward 6 with 60.74 %. The lowest voter turn-out in the municipality was in Ward 17 with 36.73 %. The average voter turn-out achieved in the 2011 municipal elections was 50 %.

Following the 2011 local government elections, four political parties are represented in the Council. The African National Congress was returned as the majority party with 26 seats. The Democratic Alliance holds 6 seats, the Congress of the People holds 2 seats and the Freedom Front Plus obtained 1 seat. No independent councilor was elected to the Council.