Profile Municipality

Level of Government

The Setsoto Local Municipality was established in terms of Section 14 of the Local Government: Municipal Structures Act, Act No 117 of 1998) and was published in Provincial Gazette No 184 dated 28 September 2000. The Local Municipality is a category B Municipality with a collective executive system combined with a ward participatory system as contemplated in Section 3(b) of the Determination of Types of Municipality Act, 2000 (Act No 1 of 2000).

Spatial Description

The Setsoto Municipality is situated in the Eastern Free State within the regional boundaries of the Thabo Mofutsayana District Municipality. The local Municipal area measures 5 948.35 km2.The major towns that form part of Setsoto are Ficksburg (municipal head office), Senekal, Clocolan and Marquard.

Municipal Biodiversity Summary

The municipality covers an area of 596635.9ha of which 61.2 % has remained as natural habitat. There is one formal land-based protected area in the municipality, namely the Willem Pretorius Nature Reserve. There are no RAMSAR sites in the municipality. There is one biome in the Setsoto Municipality, namely Grassland. Ten vegetation types cover 596635.9ha of the municipality. There is one endangered ecosystems, covering 1323.3ha, of the municipal area.

This is the Vaal-Vet Sandy Grassland. There are also two vulnerable ecosystems, namely the Eastern Free State Clay Grassland and the Eastern Temperate Freshwater Wetlands. The Freshwater Ecosystems in the municipality are characterized by three water management areas. Eight rivers run through the municipality. Wetlands cover 1.7 % of the Setsoto municipality.